The Five Platonic Solids

The Five Platonic Solids

Originally uploaded by anselm23

Via Flickr:
So here they are. They’re built. In Ancient Greek elemental theory, the cube represented Earth; the tetrahedron represented Fire. The dodecagon was Universe. The icosahedron was Water. The octahedron was Air.

Mathematically, a cube has six sides (the Doctor says "seven — including the INSide"). The tetrahedron has 4 (five, says Doctor Who). The dodecagon has 12 (13!). The icosahedron has 20 (21! Why must I keep saying this??), and the octahedron has eight ("nine! Nine sides muhahahahahaha… Oh, wait… Wrong tv personality.")

Hot geometry in planar solids.

Liked it? Take a second to support Andrew on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.